BOOK REVIEW: Young Power by Andrea Blythe Liebman.

My Rating: 5 / 5 ⭐️
Page Count: 375
Publisher: BookBaby
Publication Date: May 14th, 2019
Buy Young Power on Amazon, Kindle, or iBooks!

Hello friends and welcome back to my blog!

I have a super SUPER exciting review for you today! A few weeks ago I began following an author and had no idea that her book, her world, and her characters would forever change me. Before I begin my review, I would like to thank Andrea so much for sending me a copy of her book, for her friendship and for trusting me with Young Power. I truly cannot begin to express my gratitude over your generosity and kind, coffee fueled soul.


“An Americano, please.”

This is truly one of the most relatable opening lines in a book I’ve read in my entire life. Young Power starts off in one of my favourite places to be, a coffee shop. This sets the tone and pace of the book perfectly as we follow our main character, Liv, as she maneuvers through her first year of college whilst trying to keep the creeping depression from her rather unexpected break up from bubbling over the edge.


What did I love? (NOTE: May contain spoiler-y stuff)

  • The world building within this book was remarkable. Andrea did not miss a beat going into detail about the architecture, landscape, and geography in this epic story.
  • Fluidity of the writing style and story line. Young Power was written so beautifully with lots of attention to detail for world building and character building, it kept me aching for more and I’ve since dubbed this book “unputdownable”!
  • Every. Single. Character!! Each person we met in Young Power complimented the rest of the group wonderfully! Peyton and Liv’s relationship is a perfect mix of extravert and introvert. Peyton’s personality complimented Liv’s and allowed Liv to come out of her shell more. I cannot wait to see how the rest of the characters grow and change in Elemental Power! Especially Rei, I absolutely adored Rei during the last half of the book — he completely did a 180 and I was extremely surprised and so happy! His display of loyalty to Hayden and keeping Puerdios safe is extremely admirable.
  • Liv’s relationship with Hayden. It reminds me a lot of my own relationship with my husband in which we simply are not complete without each other. We would do everything in our power to keep each other happy, safe and loved. Reading about their relationship and how they can poke fun at each other, love each other fiercely and so passionately and having it remind me of my husband and I is just one more reason why I feel so connected to this book.
  • I absolutely LOVED that the focus of this book was Greek Mythology and lore with a modernized twist. I was absolutely blown away by the amount of research that must have went into writing Young Power and applaud Andrea for the extensive and in depth look at Modernized Gods and their ancestral ties to Greek Gods. I loved how in depth Andrea went on the politics and history between the Pure Gods and Dark Gods. 
  • I loved the mentions of constellations and stars. As someone who connects deeply with the stars, space & constellations I felt such a strong connection, even more than I already did, to Liv and Young Power. The stars are always constant and there to guide me.
  • The fashion mentioned all throughout Young Power is another thing I absolutely loved. Andrea applied her background in Fashion so well within this book — being able to have a visual of the stunning outfits the students and faculty of Puerdios wear on a daily basis made this story more real as I find fashion isn’t really something that gets mentioned in great detail in a lot of the books I read.

Normally I add a “What I didn’t Like” section but I’m making an exception because there was nothing I didn’t like about Young Power! There was honestly so much to love about this story but I don’t want to give too much away! Grab yourselves a copy and experience it for yourselves! I promise you won’t be disappointed! If you’re a fan of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, nods to great shows like Gossip Girl, copious amounts of coffee, fashion, power struggles, engaging and brilliant character and world building, and Greek Mythology; I implore you all to grab yourselves a copy of Young Power like yesterday!

I just wanted to give another HUGE thank you to Andrea. You have created such a wonderful and exciting world for me and readers alike to get lost in. I am so happy to have gotten the chance to get to know you and more about Young Power, participate in book club, chat about coffee, and become your friend. I cannot wait for Elemental Power, in the mean time, I’ll be recommending Young Power to everyone I know. They need to experience this incredible book!

That’s it for this post, friends!
Happy reading,


Follow my other Socials: Instagram|Goodreads|Twitter

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Young Power by Andrea Blythe Liebman.

  1. Thank you so much for the kind review, Chelsea!! It’s been so incredible getting to know you and I’m even more excited for the next chapter of Young Power – you’ll definitely be getting a copy of Elemental Power this Fall!! 🙂

    Like

    • You are so welcome Andrea! And thank you a million times for not only writing such an incredible book but being such a wonderful individual! I can’t wait for EP! 😭🙌🏻

      Like

Comments are closed.